“You see how…this is? Us working together? Very…symbiotic…”

“You said that already. What is that, the word of the day?”

 

BONES: Season Three

The Widow’s Son in the Windshield

 

Aw, can’t you just imagine Booth kind of going crazy all summer, trying to figure out just what it is that is keeping Brennan from wanting to go out in the field with him? So then, finally he turns to a thesaurus or something, and finds the word symbiotic, and it just fits! He knows that will impress her, right? Well, not so much Boothy boy. Nice try though.

We’ve got ourselves a nice start to season three, and I’m interested to see how these blog posts go. I feel like I’ve seen these episodes more than the season one and two episodes, but we’ll see how much I remember. Just wanted to remind everyone that personally, I prefer to be spoiler free. I know there is a lot of BONES news today, so if you all can just keep that out of the comments, I would appreciate it. Yeah, yeah, I’m a party pooper, I know.

THE CASE:

As some teenagers are driving under an overpass, a skull crashes into the windshield. It belongs to Gavin Nichols, an incredibly famous violinist. Suspects include Gavin’s former girlfriend and his lover, the wife of the deputy director of the secret service. The investigation leads Booth and Brennan (grudgingly) into a world of cannibalism and secret society, including the basement of a bank vault where they find Gavin’s violin and other museum quality artifacts. But the most intriguing find is a silver skeleton attached to some sort of wheel. Brennan is more interested in helping Booth in the field once Zack returns from Iraq, and she and Zack determine that Gavin’s skull was gnawed on by someone with a diamond set in his tooth. But when Jason (toothy guy) is arrested, he later commits suicide, and in the form of the silver skeleton pose. This case isn’t resolved, and becomes an arc for the rest of season three as the contents of the bank vault are transported to the basement of the Jeffersonian.

THE SQUINTS:

Angela and Hodgins are mostly busy trying to determine the identity of Angela’s husband. What the frak is that sketch she makes of him? I mean, come on, seriously? I understand that her memory is slightly hazy, but she does that kind of thing for a living. Yikes. It’s serious fun when the PI shows Hodgins and Angela a picture of Grayson (Birimbau) Barasa, and Hodgins can’t get over how huge he is. “He’s a Titan!” hahaha! The PI tells them that they can wait three years and have him legally declared dead. Hodgins and Angela ask one another if they want to wait three years. Angela says absolutely not.

I love the moment between Hodgins and Brennan where Brennan is telling him that the reason she has been in the lab a lot is because of Zack, and not because of some other reason. Hodgins just gets this look on his face like, “Okay.” I know I have said before that I think the friendship between them is underdeveloped, and this is a perfect example. I would say that Hodgins probably (at this point in the series) understands Brennan best out of anyone, at least from the rational scientist/communicating with other humans point of view.

Cam is fine in this episode, and I like that they are really beginning to set up her friendship/drinking buddy relationship with Booth. That is something Booth needs. It’s also fun when she tells Clark she’s still not sure what Dr. Brennan thinks of her.

On to Clark. I don’t know…he’s not my favorite squintern, not by a long shot, and even at this point, it just wasn’t clicking with me. But I do like the way he kind of bows out when Zack shows up.

So…Zack. Thoughts? He has definitely been affected by his experiences in the war. And I realize that we are about to enter writers’ strike territory. I don’t want every season three episode (and early season four) recaps to be all about that. I want to assume that we just missed out on a lot of Zack storyline in season three. But we will talk more of that later, particularly in Knight on the Grid. But I will say this. He was certainly welcomed back with open arms.

BOOTH & BRENNAN:

BONES is just so romantically scientific, you know? Or maybe it’s scientifically romantic. I don’t know why I’m even saying this, except it just turns my brain on sometimes, and the coffee moment and “We’re the Center”, “And the center must hold” stuff just makes me smile. I like that Booth is very serious about making sure he and Brennan are solid.

I like that season three starts off with a little bickering. It’s kind of refreshing. And like I said before, it’s kind of cute to see Booth puppydoggy-ing it with Brennan, trying to figure out if she’s telling the truth (as she almost always does) or if she’s lying (usually defined by the way her voice gets just that much higher). Classic Booth to accept responsibility for whatever it is (as he assumes it’s because of Max) and also classic for him to try to fix it by appealing to what he would consider important to her (words). But when the truth comes out…that Brennan thinks HE should have stopped Zack from going to Iraq, Booth identifies it quickly and then tells her just exactly why he did what he did. I totally buy that whole scene from them, and that it’s never quite resolved. There is no right or wrong answer on that one. Maybe Booth should have stopped him from going, but then, maybe he’s right, and Zack needed to get out of the lab.

It’s mirrored earlier (and very cute) then when Brennan shows up at Booth’s office to tell him about the diamond in the tooth. Brennan says she wants to help Booth in the field and he can’t believe it. She says Zack is back and so she is free to help. “Just like that.” Booth asks. Brennan wants to know if Angela said something to him. Booth gets kind of flustered (aka, that would be a yes), and it’s fun.

It seems like I’m going backward through the episode here, as far as B&B moments, but I also love when he tells her she has a mental problem.

And while I’m at it, I’ll just make today’s Booth of the day from earlier in this episode.

The “Keep those eyes open” Booth

from

The Widow’s Son in the Windshield: Season Three

 

 

Peace, Love & Bones

~S

<<Soccer Mom in the Mini Van

>>Stargazer in a Puddle