Do you believe in redemption?

Yes,I do.

BONES: Season Four

The He in the She

 

First of all, I want to say special thanks to those of you who commented on the BONESless BONESday question for the week. Without new episodes, your comments keep me from disliking Thursdays! Remember (and I think it was around this time…who knows) when BONES was on Mondays? It was like “goodbye weekend, hello BONES!” I LOVED that. Mondays were not too shabby with new episodes to look forward to. Anyways…thanks for commenting. I loved all of your favorite moments and also loved that it’s as impossible for you to choose one as it is for me, and really…why bother choosing just one?

Are you ever totally awesome and don’t realize it until later? Well that is what is happening to me, because this morning, I was trying to think of what would be a good Q for us to discuss, and of course Booth came to mind and I realized I wanted to talk about him. So I asked for favorite moments, when in fact, the lead in to THIS post is really one of my all time favorite Booth moments. And I didn’t even plan that! See? Awesome.

Or is it Booth who brings the awesomeness to both scenarios? Hmmm…it’s a mystery. But we’ll talk more about Booth later. First, let’s discuss another mystery, and that is…

THE CASE:

The top half of a woman’s body is washed up onto shore. Booth suspects foul play, but Brennan proves it. The FBI does a scan of her breast implants and determine that she was Patricia Ludmiller. B&B track down her residence and end up on a small island community and discover that Patricia was the pastor of Inclusion church.

While they are there, the bottom half of a body is discovered 8 miles away from where the top half was. But the pelvis speaks and says “I am Male”.  So they realize that Patricia used to be Patrick Stephenson, televangelist extraordinaire.

It’s an intriguing case about how your friends can become family and how your family want to be family and friends, and it proves that BONES knows how to handle such subjects with class and heart. BONES really, really has heart.

THE SQUINTS

I just want to say upfront that I LLLLLLOOOOOOOOOVVE Vincent Nigel Murray. Vino Delectable! Yes! I want him to hang out with me all of the time, with facts and good information. He is awesome.

Hodgins is funny, about dissing Nigel Murray to his face, though.

I like that Angela used her art in this episode, and I like Cam’s interactions with Vincent.

Let’s talk Sweets. Thoughts from you on him betting Booth $20? I’m torn, because it’s fun, and when Booth loses, it’s SUPER fun, and oh my gosh, Brennan is the CUTEST when she gets to be the bank lady. The CUTEST EVER! You have to check it out. Oh, man, she’s the best. I think from the pilot episode throughout, she is just one of the best characters ever written. But still, back to the bet…maybe not really right for Sweets to do. Nothing detrimental came of it, that we know of, so I’m not going to talk more about it.

BOOTH & BRENNAN:

The (relative) beginning of this episode is fun, and Sweets session I had forgotten about. Although, I am still not quite sure why they are still having these sessions. Booth and Brennan don’t HAVE to meet with him, right? This definitely had the appearance of mandatory sessions. Although, on the other hand, I don’t want to be a complainer, because these sessions bring about annoyed Booth, this time with a slinky, as no one in the room says a word.

He is such a stud.

 Yes!

But back to Booth…oh, wait…we were never away from him? Haha.

Some people feel that this episode was a turning point in his character description, and I sort of agree. Booth’s previous MO was ‘the cosmic balance sheet’, he wanted to catch as many murderers as people he’d killed. That is a form of redemption, I suppose, but it’s more making his own destiny, you know? Redemption, at least in this episode, and what I think Booth is thinking, is still associated with good outweighing the bad, but I don’t know that he necessarily feels as if he has to do all the good for himself. I’m not making any sense, am I? I guess it’s kind of like what we talked about yesterday; Booth is beginning to see that he is a good person. Ah! Remember above how I said I was awesome? Well, scratch that because I just CANNOT explain what I mean. It’s just this. When Booth said he believed in redemption, I thought he’d turned a corner, personally. And I love that.

I had forgotten about the ‘aiming Agent Booth…like a hose?” part, haha. Normally I don’t love B&B’s bickering on religion, but I liked it in this episode. I liked Brennan saying that the Pope might be kind of vain for wearing those fancy robes, and Booth being so horrified. Nice! Booth kind of growls at her too, which is super nice.

And I adore the ‘ain’t too proud to beg’ stuff. Add another point to the (maybe not TOO) annoyed Brennan and certainly CURIOUS Brennan re: Booth’s sex life.

Actually, this episode is chock full of Booth and Brennan goodness. “She keeps everyone honest; this one.” Haha.

Yes, all in all, I really like this episode. Redemption is one of the recurring threads in this ENTIRE series, and I so appreciate that. I think that is what sets BONES apart from other ‘procedurals’. The other day, I was thinking that I think it’s time to officially call this show what it is. It’s been getting some criticism for trying to be too funny, too much of a comedy. And I’ll agree with that to some extent, but I don’t think it’s a comedy. It’s also not really a drama anymore, either, no matter what TNT says. But what makes BONES special is the same thing that keeps it from winning awards. It can’t really be categorized by the set mores of TV rules. In my opinion, it’s a romance, in the classic sense. There is good and evil and someone is going to save someone else. And I’ve been thinking lately that when it comes down to it, when this show is all said and done, I think Brennan might be the one to save Booth. I love this show.

Here’s your Booth of the Day:

The “Save me, Bones; you’re the only one who can” Booth

 

from

The Hero in the Hold: Season Four

 

 

Peace, Love & Bones

~S

<<The Skull in the Sculpture

>>The Crank in the Shaft