“You want to get off the plane, to see those old Chinese bones…I’m sorry.”

“It’s not your fault.”

“Yeah, it is. Cause I’m the one who dragged you out of pure science and pulled you into murder solving.”

“That’s not how I remember it.”

“Really.”

“Yes! As I recall, I had to force you to take me into the field.”

“Really.”

Yes. You didn’t want to, remember? This is all my fault.”

 

BONES: Season Four

The Passenger in the Oven

 

Well, just want to say thanks for coming back after my spew of craziness about CMitML. Seriously, one thing I love about BONESworld is that there is an acceptance among us fans that transcends a lot of barriers.

I also love this episode. I don’t love the snarky-ness of the kid at the very end, or B&B’s reaction to him, but all in all, I like this one a lot. The squints are in the lab, Brennan is SO SCIENCY and Booth kicks some butt FBI style and manages to look great doing it (why is he wearing a shirt and tie on an overnight flight to China?!? I’m not complaining). And I LOVE Booth’s flight seatmate Charlotte. Oh, man. THAT is good quirky character writing! I love that she is such a Brennan fan.  

In other news:

Oh, geek love!

THE CASE:

As Booth and Brennan are en route to China to investigate some ancient remains, they have to investigate a murder on their flight. A woman was cooked in the airplane oven. Suspects include everyone on the plane, but specifically…

Brennan must use her cunning and remote video feeds from her team to work on this set of non-ancient remains. Meanwhile, Booth has the task of rounding up supplies she can use from various passengers on the plane as well as interrogating suspects.

Between them is an underlying thread that Booth feels Brennan might be bored with their partnership and the work they do.

The woman murdered was  travel writer and Booth finds out (with the help of Caroline and Sweets) that she was having an affair with another man on the plane. That man, and his ill wife and son are traveling. The son knew about the affair and killed the woman to protect his mother from finding out.

THE SQUINTS:

Why is Sweets at the lab? I do not understand that, especially without B&B there. Maybe he was waiting for she who will not be named.

I do like that the team bands together, coming back from their mini-vacations to help out. And it’s ALWAYS a good time when Caroline Julian is around.

I was actually kind of interested in the Hodgins and Angela beginnings of new friendship in this episode, and it was also intriguing that Angela is sort of rejected by Roxie in taking the next step.

BOOTH & BRENNAN:

I like that the writers had two threads going on in this episode relationally for the crime fighting pair. The first, that Brennan might not be satisfied with her work with Booth any longer, coinciding with this way they both were kind of flirting with one another.

As far as the flirting, it was a microcosm of the back and forth we’ve  seen from them over three+ seasons. In episodes in the past, one of them might reach out more toward the other, who generally remains oblivious, but in this episode they both were flirting. The other was generally oblivious at the time, haha, but still, it was very nice. Interesting that Brennan point blank asked Booth why he thought people thought they were together romantically. Also interesting is that Booth pretty much ignores that question.

Completely delightful is the look on Booth’s face when he FIRST gets a glimpse of Brennan in those glasses. I don’t even know how to describe it,

I think that whole scene is the most squee-worthy scene in Bones history. Possible? I can’t think of another one at the moment. SQUEEEEEE!

But even before that, I love Booth sneaking up to first class. I love the smile on his face and his excited ‘Yes’ when the chair reclines. Booth is very open in this episode. Very quick to smile and express his interest in Brennan. I love it. (What I will never understand is how the airplane attendant is immune to his charm! Seriously…it just never registers how gorgeous he is.) He’s kind of a goofball at times, and like we’ve discussed, it’s probably because they are away from home, and she’s the only one who can see him like that.

But with all of that, there is that underlying insecurity that she doesn’t want to work with him anymore. Remember the vulnerability in his voice in the season three opener when he kind of taps the hood of that car and says it seems maybe she doesn’t want to work with him anymore? It’s kind of like that. In THAT episode, Brennan was more standoffish. In this episode, she just tells him that she loves ancient remains; it doesn’t have bearing on her enjoyment of being Booth’s partner.

This time around, I was looking for the writers to explain why Booth was even going in the first place. Do you know why?

According to Booth… “According to title 18, section 1831, I must protect the proprietary American technology Dr. Brennan will be using. So…it is my patriotic duty to be right next to her, here, like a bodyguard.” I think he kind of gives this cute little wink on the word proprietary too. Eek!

So I love their total teamwork on this case. Even though they are both ‘out of their element’ so to speak (lab, interrogation room, etc), I think they are more themselves than ever. I love that they both do their job and awesomely! I love their partnership and so I also love the banter at the end where Booth is kind of teasing her about it being his fault that she didn’t get to see her Chinese bones. And Brennan knows he’s teasing her. I always smile at the way she kind of tilts her head to the side, knowing he’s kind of joking, but still needing to prove that she is right.

What do you guys think? How do you remember it? I am thinking it’s more along the lines of:

Booth doesn’t like being blackmailed:

Yay!

How is everyone doing this week? I am glad it’s Wednesday. Tune in tomorrow morning for the BONESless BONESday question of the week!

For now, here’s your Booth of the Day:

The “What do you want me to do, spit in your hand?” Booth

from

Pilot: Season One

 

 

Peace, Love & Bones

~S

<<The Bone that Blew

>>The Con Man in the Meth Lab