Sweets, done with the profile yet?

Nope, still putting the pieces together.

Whatever he says is a guess.

No, it’s a subjective evaluation based on quantifiable psychological markers, okay? Do we have to go through this every time?

He may as well be telling stories around a campfire.

Want some smores?

BONES: Season Five

The Bond in the Boot

 

Ah! I so love this episode.

First of all, the above scene…you know I love when B&B make fun of Sweets, so this was just awesome. It kind of felt like improv from David Boreanaz, as it’s a smile we don’t see much from Booth, but…

And gosh, Brennan is SO pretty!

I love that in this episode, Brennan was rather cocky about her knowledge of Booth and the rational way to fix plumbing (not diapers! haha). But what I really love is that when she allowed herself to allow Booth to teach her something, she really did learn something new.

I love this episode! Remember those commercials for rings a few years ago where a man in Rome (or maybe Paris) just announces to everyone that he loves this woman? That is kind of how I feel about this episode. I am using a lot of my original review, but…well, I still feel the same way.

“Brain and Heart, Bones…brain and heart”. That is what this episode was about. I know that I tend to be optimistic about BONES episodes, but I think this one came just about as close to perfect as any episode I can think of. The case was whip smart and scientific. Booth was FBI-special and kicked butt. Brennan was brilliant and confident. But that’s not all…

All in all, I loved every moment. I’ll even excuse what has to be the MOST DISGUSTING BODIES EVER! I mean…seriously. Welcome back to gross, and ‘welcome back’ to the dinner I ate before watching this ep. Getting your hand cut off with your own knife sucks. Getting run over by James Bond’s car…not cool. But THEN you are eaten by cats? Sick, sick, sick.

The case:

The show really made an effort to showcase the case, and so I’ll make an effort to actually discuss it, haha. A Russian gems dealer arrives in the US with a briefcase only to be killed (see above) by a James Bond imposter. But then old J. Bond ends up being the ‘Bond in the Boot’ of his own car. AND he’s a CIA analyst. But still…where’s the briefcase? And what’s in it? What COULD be more valuable than diamonds? Come to find out the CIA analyst was rolling on his own, trying to solve his own lead. He sends the secretary a secret message, only the squint squad can decipher.

 

The Squints:

I liked the teamwork about getting Wendell his scholarship back. I LOVED the part where Wendell comes up to the platform, and they all greet him cheerily. Brennan’s frozen face at that moment was so funny and so perfect for her. Like “Everyone is pretending to be happy, but it’s a lie, but I don’t want to give it away, but…it’s a LIE, but…” and probably a million more thoughts. Awesome. AWESOME!

Our boy Wendell solved this case, too, which rocked. Loved Booth bringing it all back to hockey for him.

Sweets vs. the Kid from the State Department was fun.

Honorary Squint award to the CIA secretary.  She just couldn’t keep a secret, could she? Ironically, she was entrusted with a huge one and never knew it.

The Teacher & the Student:

Ah, Brennan has money, but Booth has clearance!

I, for one, loved that Brennan wanted Booth to pay for the book. I think she really doesn’t care about her money. She honestly saw it as a favor. He needed the book; she found it; she bought it. What she cares MORE about is what she has always cared about from day one: truth and knowledge.

I think she’s amazed at how quickly Booth’s attitude changes when she encourages him that she wants him to teach her. It’s really night and day, and she wants to examine that.

What Booth has always cared about is justice and relationships. So he’s able to crack this case, with the help of his team, and help Wendell save his job. Did you see the way he just pinpointed right to what Wendell needed? That’s the Booth we love, right? And then…

Mmmmm, Bones fans…did that plumbing scene jump to your top ten B&B moments of all time? Ack! Fangirl analysis:

  1. They are both VERY cute in their casual wear.
  2. I love how partway through it, Booth tosses the book aside and they just go for it.
  3. I thought Brennan was more affected physically than Booth. I still think she’s the one Dr. Wyatt was talking about in ‘Mayhem’, but I digress.
  4. When he wrapped his arm around her to get to the water valve, I think I stopped breathing.
  5. But the BEST moments were when they were confiding in each other. There is an open door there now; no secrets. Brennan feels close to him, and Booth smiles at her, which says more than words can.
  6. Your thoughts? Please, please, please, let’s talk about it!

To entice you, here is a some Booth!

The “Making sure that it’s safe” Booth

from

Bond in the Boot: Season Four

 

 

Peace, Love & Bones

~S

<<The Plain in the Prodigy

>>Harbingers in a Fountain